A Room to Breathe In. My inner sanctuary at Navasola.

Here I am sitting in my sun room
Retreating from the unforgiving,
Too much heat at times.
Now too cold, wet and windy.
But always I can see the rocks,
The tiny path leading to the Era.
The trees, the trees, the trees.
Outside, Outside, Outside.

A room to feel at home in
A room to be quite quiet in
A room to retreat into.
White walls, less clutter
Clears the mind, Warms the heart.
Away from the building work,
Away from the rush of life.
Inside, Inside, Inside.

I have been fond of all my rooms
Some for sleep, some for work
Some for all the family.
This room is for me a sanctuary
To write in, be silent in.
A welcome break from the
Busyness of life,
Where now I have a chance
To breathe in the rocks.
Breath out the words.
From Outside to Inside
And Inside to Out.

This has been inspired by another Dverse Prompt night  dverse website and an interesting post on examples of poems about rooms. I was so relieved to create this space for myself in the middle of an ongoing building project as we reform the house at Navasola.

image
Outside the window. Wild and not so wild flowers.
image
My favourite view from the window of my room.
image
Natural tree sculpture seen from my room!
image
Inside the room with my friend’s dog Lotti, mirror made in an old Castano tree frame.
31 thoughts on “A Room to Breathe In. My inner sanctuary at Navasola.”

  1. I definitely feel relaxed even READING about your sun room! It would be wonderful to have such a room where one could have views on many sides to the OUTSIDE! What a peaceful sanctuary you have, and I definitely can see why this would be a room in which you would create!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I am very lucky to have this bit of woodland in Spain. But even as a city girl was lucky to have a little patch of garden. London is laid out in suburbia with lots of gardens and in the city houses round squares. But these are for the mega rich now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

