Quote Challenge 2: What would the world be, once bereft Of wet and of wildness ? Let them be left,

What would the world be, once bereft
Of wet and of wildness ? Let them be left,
O let them be left, wildness and wet ;
Long live the weeds and the wilderness yet.

Gerard Manley Hopkins from his poem about  Inversnaid

Today on the second day of the quote challenge it is certainly wet here in the Sierra Aracena.  This is not surprising as we live within a triangle of some of the most rainfall for Andalucia. The hill or mountainside we are on is 730 metres  above sea level. The peak of Castano is about 861m. It can often be in the clouds. However in the summer it can be very dry and hot. The area has been cultivated for many centuries, there are many megalithic sites and later the Romans grew vines here. Settlements after the Spanish Inquisition developed more chestnut orchards and pig farming. There are some areas which are more wild and these tend to be on the higher parts and deep valleys. However, the trees have given a green and moist canopy to the hills. It is now a natural park and conservation of the environment is high on the agenda while balancing some of the needs of farmers. It is also home and inspiration to many artists, photgraphers and film makers. Soledad Fenandez Coll is a naturalist and artist from this region and her name will link to her art currently on display at the virtual gallery of Artagora.

There are some more  photographs of the old and abandoned chestnuts on the footpath to the village of Galaroza.  Photographs are by  Ruth Koenigsberger. Some were featured in Quote 1 and an earlier post on Autumn Walks. Ruth and Sol  are currently exhibiting their art at the ARCO  event in Madrid where both are involved in the alternative way to show art: Room Art.  Some of Ruth’s art is also on the November 2015 archive on the virtual gallery Artagora.

P1000506 copia P1000504 copia P1000502 copia

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve always loved this verse of Gerard Manley Hopkins. He was an artist with words but who saw the challenges of keeping wild places. I hope we can all speak out, write, draw, paint and inspire others to protect the wild world.

 

 

 

The Quote Challenge

Thank you Jenny for nominating me and we seem to be on similar journeys finding out more about the natural world but on the opposite sides of this globe!

jennylitchfield.wordpress.com

For this second day challenge I nominate the three blogs  below with a focus on photography and inspiring a love of nature. This is all just part of a fun challenge which may bring to our attention more interesting blogs. Nominees should feel no pressure to create their own quote challenge. I have nominated these blogs as they all capture some wonderful photographs of the diverse world we live in.

  • Post for three consecutive days
  • Posts can be one or three quotes per day
  • Nominate three different blogs per day
  1. https://foxduplanty.wordpress.com/  Beautiful focus on the plant world and its importance.
  2. http://picturethisbyfrank.com/  Amazing range of nature photos
  3. http://photographyofnia.com/  Brings the cat and bird world of the city of Istanbul to our attention

 

19 thoughts on “Quote Challenge 2: What would the world be, once bereft Of wet and of wildness ? Let them be left,”

  1. I too love all things wild. I live in the desert where gardening requires the careful use of added water. I incorporate many natural plants in my garden landscape and because I want those plants to flourish and bloom, I give them an extra squirt or two of water to keep them going until it rains. My grandchildren love to ask me why I water weeds. I tell them that a plant is only a weed if it grows where a human being doesn’t want it. I think if we changed our view of gardening to that of working with the natural plants in our environment instead of changing the environment with our gardens, we might find the best of both worlds.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. My favorite wild flower here is the purple, Wild Asters. To ‘help’ them, I must allow them their own way. I’ve tried collecting and planting their seeds but they insist on planting themselves where they want to grow. If I give them extra water, I must imitate a desert monsoon, flooding them from underneath and soaking them deep. I have to be careful not to water them too often because they become weak and instead of producing and low, lying, thick purple broom in late summer, they grow gangly and can’t support the blossoms that then sadly, droop. I have learned a great deal from them about survival in the desert and yes, the native plants are perfectly, adapted. Still, they enjoy a little extra love as long as they are also, respected.:0)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ah, my attempts with the wild ones seem similar. They know the patch they want! One of my favourite is the wild peony and I have had to replant a few which were on a footpath. I hope they will survive in their safer spot!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I’m glad I’m not the only crazy gardening in love with ‘weeds’! Wow! Wild Peonies! The closest native I have to that is the Walking Stick Cactus that produces a beautiful rose-purple bloom. I like to plant them with Prickly Pear that blooms bright yellow and is sometimes referred to as The Desert Rose. The bumbleo bees and humming birds love them and they make a good fence to keep other critters out of the rest of my garden. Of course, I love those critters too and have a hard time begrudging ‘my deer’ a bite of my lilies. It’s worth the privilege of being able to sit on my deck and watch a new-born fawn nurse.:0)

        Liked by 1 person

      4. The deer are adapted to the desert too. It is a barrier but they can become very brave at the sight and sent of a newly, sprouted lily. They only, like them at that stage though so, it causes the lilies to bloom later in the season but they still bloom. Deer graze on different plants during each season.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I hope your peonies survive, they don’t much like to be moved do they? I found the attitude to Roman remains in Spain interesting – they don’t seem to give them a great deal of regard when compared with the great efforts we go to here in the UK to preserve them. Thanks for the links to other blogs, have signed up to follow a couple of them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

