Blogging with boars, birds and bunnies!

A week of changes. Changing places and changing weather.

Just before leaving Navasola I wandered into my huerta or vegetable garden. I wanted to check on the plants. I am hoping that I have created enough paths and cut back grasses and vetch to keep it all more under control. Last year when I returned in May I posted about my ‘Wild Welcome Back’. I was overwhelmed with neck high grass,vetch and then hay fever.

Maybe this time I  had a wild  farewell.

There were rustling sounds from within the abandoned olive grove. I stood very still and listened. I thought it might have been some noisy blackbirds. It often is! To my surprise a large female boar made her way into the field. Although there was a ‘boar proof fence’ between us to protect the huerta, I didn’t want to see it tested. I stood very still. Females are said to have a reputation. Following  her were three slightly smaller wild boar. Then one by one, a group of stripy baby boar trotted in. No camera,  no  phone, just me and the boar family.

Part of the Huerta by the boar proof fence and gate.
Part of the Huerta by the boar proof fence and gate.

I stood still and watched them move around grazing and looking like large dogs. The youngsters climbed up over some rocks. I just kept still, not daring to move and too far from the gate.Then the large female saw me. She came forward a little and but decided to turn away and run off, with the young ones following. It was quite a sight. Reading up a bit more I discovered that these groups are matriarchal and called sounders.They consist of the very young and slightly older females.It is far more common that boar will run away but it seems they may move towards you a little as their eyesight is so poor and they are curious. Most injuries to humans from boar are during a hunt and with the males turning to defend themselves if cornered.

After this event we were off to Portugal for my flight. I had a quick check on the house martins I am trying to survey. There are not so many on the frontline this year but these small birds were working hard with the mud to build over netting put up to prevent them. I had been disappointed to see this attempt to deter them in a local street.They certainly wouldn’t have bothered anyone in that location and it now looks quite unsightly. It also might mean the nests are less secure for the young. The birds are undeterred and determined to build in places they must remember. Those whose nests had not been destroyed have had a head start. I think they have got young and these might manage two broods.

image

 

 

 

 

 

Flowers at our favourite restaurant in Cabanas, Portugal.
Flowers at our favourite restaurant in Cabanas, Portugal.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In Dorset we had snow and hail, lots of birds and a vole. The bullfinch is a regular visitor at my friend’s  bird feeders, along with a nuthatch and some pheasants. After the snow a kestrel came by but the birds had disappeared into the nearby hedgerow.

image

 

 

 

 

 

Sculptur of half hare, half woman outside Salisbury cathedral.
Sculpture of half hare, half woman outside Salisbury cathedral.

Back in London I was shown the video of the baby robins nesting in the ivy by the house and at least two are now alive and well, feeding in the garden.  My daughter has fallen in love with feeding the birds and they seem to reward her. I was also updated with the slow motion function on the latest  phones. Mine is too out of date but it was lovely to see they had captured the garden Robin flying! Sorry no video as I have to update WordPress and pay money to upload a video! Will think on’t!

Baby robins by back door in London
Baby robins by back door in London

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now I am in the north of the U.K. and enjoying my other daughter’s young pet bunnies. These bunnies seem to want to blog with me!

 

image

image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To be close to the animal world seems important. My wilder world of Navasola is still without pets and the wild ones choose their moments. Mice in the middle of the night and a mongoose went up through my rock garden one evening. The wild ones like to be invisible and secretive  but it is good to know they are out there.Not in the house! Four mice have been ‘humanely’ removed to at least 1 km away!

Mongoose was wandering over the rocks and seen from my sanctuary window.
Mongoose was wandering over the rocks and seen from my sanctuary window.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bunny friends!
Bunny friends!

I am off to stay with a friend in Rhodes so hope to keep up with blogging about the flora and fauna there soon. I may not be on wifi much but hope to catch up with everyone’s blogs again soon too.

 

 

21 thoughts on “Blogging with boars, birds and bunnies!”

  1. Hi 🙂
    It is a fun collection of photos and stories. 🙂 I love the story about the wild boars. I was holding my breath as I read it! Good that it ended peacefully. 🙂 I saw the first barn swallows of the season this morning. I thought I heard them last night and then this morning they were swooping through the air in between the buildings. 🙂

    (By the way, I have the $99. a year WordPress plan and that includes videos and audio files along with the photos. There is a 13 GB limit and I have only used 2.3 of that. The videos do take up a lot more space, but there are ways to reduce their size. Originally, I did the plan because I didn’t want the ads that come with the free plan. The first year, I looked at the video option and it said I had to pay extra. The second year, though, it seems they changed it because then I could upload the videos without paying any more.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for that and I will think about it as there was a video my daughter took of the baby robins. Really clear. I used to be involved in making videos and think it’s a good way to show animals and birds if there’s an opportunity!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I was standing about 10 minutes! Yes, we used to keep rabbits as pets and now my older daughter has taken the plunge. They seem to fit in well to her busy lifestyle and cause less allergy reactions to her partner than a cat! Have seen lots of wild rabbits in UK but we seem to have very few at present in Spain.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely post! I am always disappointed when people try to stop house martins from nesting under the eaves.
    If you open up a Youtube or Vimeo account and transfer your videos to one or other of them you can then put them onto your posts as a link and you don’t need to use up media library space.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for that info. I will try when back with more wifi. The videos my daughter made were good and close ups! She says she’s turning into me now she feeds the birds and watches them in our London garden!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I go out in the evening in Navarra to try see the boar. They don’t often come out until just after it’s too dark to see much. My father in-law used to knock the martin nests off the house, but I’ve convinced him it’s stupid in a village plagued by flies that they complain about all summer. There are very few this year so far, too – perhaps the cold north wind we’ve been having. However, the swifts arrived in Pamplona on the 1st!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good to hear the swifts arrived. They seem to frequent one village here in the Sierra. One year though there were so many in Tavira bus station. I think the house martins in Cabanas help eat the mosquitos but also wonder if some sprays are used. Hard to get information!

      Like

  4. What a fabulous post, very envious of you seeing the wild boars. We have seen lots of Iberian pigs, including two who decided to stroll down the road one day but the boars still elude us. Hope you are having a wonderful time in Rhodes, look forward to learning all about the flora and fauna there.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lovely and adorable rabbits… and baby robin… I loved the stories and photographs. Thank you, have a nice and safe travel, Rhodes island is so beautiful, don’t forget to visit the butterfly park. Love, nia

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I absolutely love this blog! I’m so happy I found it! I also wanted to tell you thank you SO SO SO much for taking the time to read my post “Please Help Our Momma” that was reblogged on the Our Rumbling Ocean blog. It means the world to me that you stopped to read about our cause. I’d humbly like to ask that you consider making a contribution to the cancer relief crowd funding campaign me and my twelve year old brother made for our mom who is fighting third stage colon cancer. Attached are both the links to my original post as well as the campaign itself where you can donate. Please take time to put my family in your consideration this week. If you cannot donate please at least reblog our cause. I know you can help make a tremendous difference!

    “Please Help Our Momma” post – https://glidius.wordpress.com/2016/05/02/helpourmomma/

    Donate here –
    https://igg.me/at/Hz9-ILFN2P0

    Thanks so much!

    Christopher Michael

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I really enjoy your posts about the flora and fauna around your areas. I too was nervous for you as you stood your ground around those wild boar. There are signs of them where my daughter and her family live but I’ve never seen any on the property during the days that I watch my granddaughter. However, Mira (the three year old granddaughter) and I did catch sight of a bobcat one day. We had been hoping to see one together. That was an exciting day for us!

    Thanks for sharing!
    Gayle ~

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

